Fatboy Slim

Fatboy Slim.jpg
Fatboy Slim or Norman Quentin Cook is one of the most recognized DJs in the world. His popularity is not only within the world of electronic music but also mainstream. Some of his singles and albums released late 90s and early 2000 became part of the major charts around the world. The early music influence of Fatboy Slim is already rooted in hip-hop. When he was in high school, he was part of a fan-made magazine called Peroxide which focused on hip-hop in UK. Naturally, this exposure led him to become creative in electronic music which was further developed in college. But instead of moving directly to electronic music, Fatboy Slim was first involved in the band called "The Housemartins." He became their bassist from 1985 but the band broke up in 1988. This gave him the chance to pursue his career as a DJ which started to gain grounds in 1989 with the single "Blame It on the Bassline". His fame in UK started in 1995 when he released an album "Pizzamania." He called himself "Pizzaman" in this album. International fame came for Fatboy Slim when he released the album "You've Come a Long Way, Baby in 1998. This album contains two chart topping singles "The Rockafeller Skanks" and "Praise You". The success of this album was followed up in 2000 with the album "Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars." The album contained the single "Weapon of Choice" which became an instant hit because of the music video. His popularity in those two albums led him to fame that any DJ can only dream of. He continued to release albums but concentrated more on live gigs as he can easily draw thousands of crowds anywhere.

Studio albums
• Better Living Through Chemistry (1996)
• You've Come a Long Way, Baby (1998)
• Halfway Between the Gutter and the Stars (2000)
• Palookaville (2004)
• Here Lies Love (with David Byrne) (2009)
Live albums
• On the Floor at the Boutique (1998)
• Live on Brighton Beach (2002)
• Big Beach Boutique II (2002)
• Bondi Beach: New Years Eve 06 (2006)
• Skip to My Loops
• Pizzamania
• Southern Fried House
• Beat Up the NME
• Signature Series Volume 1
• The Fatboy Slim/Norman Cook Collection
• Halfway Between the Gutter and the Guardian
• A Break from the Norm
• Fala aí!
• The Greatest Hits - Why Try Harder
• The Greatest Hits - Remixed
• Late Night Tales: Fatboy Slim
• I Think We're Gonna Need A Bigger Boat
• My Game (2000)
• Illuminati (19 November 2002)
• Camber Sands (19 November 2002)
• The Pimp (19 November 2002)
• Big Beach Boutique II - The Movie (2002)
• The Greatest Hits - Why Make Videos (2006)
• Incredible Adventures in Brazil (2008)
• "Everybody Needs a 303"
• "Punk to Funk"
• "Going Out of My Head"
• "Everybody Needs a 303 (Remix)"
• "Everybody Loves a Carnival"
• "The Rockafeller Skank"
• "Gangster Trippin"
• "Praise You"
• "Right Here, Right Now"
• "Build It Up - Tear It Down"
• "Sunset (Bird of Prey)"
• "Demons" (featuring Macy Gray)
• "Star 69 / Weapon of Choice"
• "Song for Shelter / Ya Mama"
• "Song for Shelter (Remix)"
• "Drop the Hate" (12-inch Only)
• "Talkin' Bout My Baby" / "Drop the Hate (Remix)"
• "Slash Dot Dash"
• "Wonderful Night"
• "The Joker"
• "Don't Let the Man Get You Down"
• "That Old Pair of Jeans"
• "Weapon of Choice (Remix)"
• "Champion Sound"
• "Radioactivity" (7-inch Only)
Other songs
• "Brimful of Asha (Norman Cook Remix)"
• "Badder Badder Schwing"
• "I See You Baby (Remix)"
• "Because We Can"
• "To Get Down (Remix)"

Your rating: None Average: 4 (23 votes)